Too Hot To Write!

When the temperature goes over seventy-five degrees and the humidity skyrockets, you can just forget about me thinking.  All I can think of is how cranky the heat makes me, how unreasonably uncomfortable I am because the humidity is making everything stick to me (including the chair in which I sit as I write this).

So, what’s a cranky guy that can’t think supposed to do?

I’ve decided that today I will share with you some favorite quotes that I included in my book Devolving in Eden, most from notable people indeed.  Indulge me.

Image
Aldous Huxley

If you have behaved badly, repent, make what amends you can and address yourself to the task of behaving better next time.  On no account brood over your wrongdoing.  Rolling in the muck is not the best way of getting clean.

– Aldous Huxley

Image
Bertolt Brecht

It isn’t important to come out on top; what matters is to be the one who comes out alive.

– Bertolt Brecht

The one important thing I have learned over the years is the difference between taking one’s work seriously and taking one’s self seriously.  The first is imperative and the second, disastrous.

– Margaret Fontey

Image
Arlene Blum

You never conquer a mountain.  You stand on the summit a few moments; then the wind blows your footprints away.

– Arlene Blum

You first, after me.

– Dorothy Glines (my mom)

Image
G. B. Stern

When I was very young I was disgracefully intolerant, but when I passed the thirty-mark, I prided myself on having learned the beautiful lesson that all things were good, and equally good.  That, however, was laziness.  Now, thank goodness, I’ve sorted out what matters and what doesn’t.  And I’m beginning to be intolerant again.

– G. B. Stern

Image
Woody Allen

Want to hear God laugh?  Tell Him your future plans.

– Woody Allen

Image
Anais Nin

Love never dies a natural death.  It dies because we don’t know how to replenish its source.  It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals.  It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of withering, of tarnishing.

— Anais Nin

Image
Tom Bodett

They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do and something to hope for.

– Tom Bodett

He’s no failure.  He’s not dead yet.

– W. L. George

I don’t blame my Obsessive Compulsive Disorder for failed relationships.  I blame my lack of knowledge on what a relationship was supposed to be.

– Tracy Faust

Hope you enjoyed them.  I love these quotes for many reasons but mostly it is that they instill a sense of hope and possibility.  That’s why they were included in my book.

I wanted others to get an idea of what makes me think, what makes me laugh.  I hope you find the same.

Leave a Reply

